Cafe Degas in New Orleans

Cafe Degas
3127 Esplanade Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70119
http://www.cafedegas.com/

This restaurant is on the smaller side but it was fine. It wasn’t like our neighbors elbows were in our food small. It was a cozy small. The parking was convenient on the st. and lots of it. My fellow foodie and I got there at 6 PM and it was quite empty but got full super fast. We started off with the cheese board. They brought out 4 cheeses with figs, blueberries, strawberries, grapes and garlic crisps. The server also brought out a basket of bread which went really well with the cheeses. My fellow foodie is a vegetarian and because there were 4 salad choices, we asked the server if he could ask the chef to make up a special vegetarian plate for her. I figured since he was heading to the kitchen anyways, I asked him to ask the chef to combine the soft shell crab with truffle parmesan risotto (two items on the menu I saw that were not part of the same entrees). The waiter came back and said usually the chef does not allow substitutions, but he said yes! i was soooooooooo excited! The cheeses were alright, nothing spectacular but nothing gross either. I am no cheese expert, but I do know that there are some better choices out there. The soft shell crab was great, flash-fried and tender. The parmesan cheese truffle risotto was good too, it had a very strong flavor to it. I thought it would be a peaceful blend but I think the two flavors clashed. We ended the night with a yummy, cold creme brulee, I thought a warm or hot one would’ve been nice. But cold was fine.

ambiance

cheese board

delicious cheese board

special vegetarian plate

flash-fried soft shell crab

soft-shell crab w truffle parmesan cheese risotto

creme brulee

Café Degas on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in French, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

