Sushi Sam’s Edomata in San Mateo, CA

Sushi Sam’s Edomata
218 E 3rd Ave
San Mateo, California 94401
http://www.sushisams.com/

Wow, I think there should be word of caution that even though a restaurant in the San Francisco area has over 700 yelp reviews, doesn’t mean jack! I didn’t realize that yelp was invented in San Francisco, so it’s part of the SanFran culture to yelp about every little experience, thus leading to restaurants with hundreds of posts. For me and the cities I’ve been to, a place w over 100 yelp reviews might be worth checking out. With that in mind and that Sushi Sam’s somehow managed to maintain a 4 out of 5 average, I decided to go check it out. Ok, first con, they don’t accept AmEx. Second con, very small, I counted about 12 tables and they don’t take reservations, although you can call ahead and put your name on the wait list for a table (not sure what that does because when you get there, you still have to wait a super long time). Third con, this place lacks maki rolls! I”m not brave enough to eat raw sushi pieces, so I avoid sashimi and try to justify myself in front of other asians by going for the maki roll which masks the raw sushi flavor. I was having a really hard time finding rolls on their menu and the waiter looked surprised at me and said he could ask the sushi chef to make us some rolls if we really wanted them…………..whoops!

So after pissing off the head sushi chef (Japanese dude) and our waiter (Chinese dude), we ordered Philly roll (cream cheese + sushi), dragon roll (unagi + avocado), spicy tuna roll,  spider roll (soft shell crab fried), 2 pieces of salmon (for the other person i was eating with), and a shrimp tempura hand roll.

very authentic looking japanese tea pot

mmmmmmmmm Sapporo

you can tell rolls ain't their specialty

fresh sashimi

dragon roll and spider roll

Sushi Sam's Edomata on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Japanese, San Francisco and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

