Dessert in San Mateo

Sweet Breams
220 2nd Ave.
San Mateo, CA
http://www.sweetbreams.com/

Tutti Melon
165 E. 4th Ave.
San Mateo, CA
http://www.tuttimelon.com/

Sweet Breams main focus is the fish pancake. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, there is a Korean (possibly Japanese that Koreans stole) pancake with delicious filling in the shape of a fish. Now I’ve had these before at Korean supermarkets, where you get an enormous fish with red bean paste filling (sounds gross but the flaky pancake batter is delicious). So  I was surprised to see that you get 6 for $3 because at Korean markets, one fish pancake is the size of my entire hand. Well, these fish pancakes were a LOT smaller. We went with the red bean paste filling for 3, and nutella filling for 3. They were delicious but I wish someone had warned us that these were bite size. Oh and minus points for the signs everywhere that said no photography allowed (I had to step outside and take pictures).

*shaking fist in the air* grrrr making me come outside to take my pictures

this is tiny! but so delicious

Sweet Breams on Urbanspoon

I figured since I was in Cali, I should check out the frozen yogurt scene. Since i’ve been to Pinkberry and Red Mango a billion times, I thought I’d try something more local. Turns out Tutti Melon is only in the Bay Area so I thought this would be the perfect candidate. Not as much tart as Pinkberry’s yogurts. Although the self-serve toppings was nice! And free (which meant that the price of a regular yogurt cup was a bit more expensive than at Pinkberry or Red Mango). The mochi was nasty here though, I was really disappointed. But besides that, there were plenty of sweet toppings and plenty of fruit toppings to go around.

Tutti Melon

since I ran out of cup space, I tried to stick my toppings to the side of my yogurt tower (worked very well!). can you see the leaning tower of mango on the other side?

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Dessert, San Francisco and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

