Maple Street Patisserie in New Orleans

Maple street Patisserie
7638 Maple St
New Orleans, LA 70118

I heard through word of mouth that this was the place for a beautiful sandwich. The line was practically out the door and it seemed like everyone was trying to get a black forest ham and brie cheese croissant. By the time I got close enough to the showcase, people were hammering for fresh apple turnovers, so I grabbed one too even though it wasn’t what I originally wanted. The masses personality has gotten me again!  So as you’re walking into this place, be sure to read the sandwiches menu on the chalkboard outside. I kinda glanced at it, expecting a more thorough menu inside, nope. There’s actually no words written anywhere inside so I had to ask the woman behind the counter what sandwiches she had. After I had placed my order she kinda stared at me and I was like, did I do something wrong (a fear that most ppl try to avoid their first time at a new place) and she said I have to specify which bread so I said rye and she said that’s not one of the options for the sandwiches, just bakery (how was I supposed to know that?) I ended up going with focaccia because I remembered it as a crispy bread with some cheese melted on top. I guess this bakery makes their own focaccia because I don’t think i’ve ever seen it baked with onion and red pepper slices on top before. Innovative. I ordered turkey with brie, I ended up pulling out the lettuce because it overpowered the other flavors. Overall, a decent sandwich for $7.50. And it was beautiful. The apple turnover practically burnt my hand as I positioned it for this picture (smells so delicious!) I’d definitely recommend trying out some of their other bakery items that were flying off the shelves.

Maple St. Patisserie next door to PJs

don't forget to read the menu before you go inside

ambiance

notice that none of the sections are full

everything looked delicious

turkey + brie on focaccia

sugar coated bread crisps and a perfect strawberry to end my meal

apple turnover

Maple Street Cafe on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in American, Dessert, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

