La Petite Grocery in New Orleans

La Petite Grocery
4238 Magazine St.
New Orleans, LA
http://www.lapetitegrocery.com/

As you drive down Magazine St., pull over onto a side street once you see this store (free parking)

the ambiance was very classy. i liked that even though there were a lot of tables filled with people surrounding my table, I couldn’t really hear the other patrons (the tables were spaced out).

My fellow foodie and I ordered 2 appetizers:
1. the baked blue crab w brie and chives au gratin $10. the texture was fluffy and cheesy. the cheese flavor was very dominant, especially the pecorino romano taste.

2nd appetizer: lobster beignets with spicy remoulade $12. these were amazing! seriously out of this world! they were crispy and very generous with the lobster filling. it was completely unaltered.

then I ordered the lunch special of the day: open-face lamb shank sandwich on top of collard greens with a side of super crispy french fries for $9. the lamb shank was moist and flavorful, the collard greens were a bit much but I loved the flavor of the gravy juice over the lamb over brioche.

my friend ordered the fish of the day: red drum fish courtbouillion with Louisiana popcorn rice, blue crab beignet and sauce piquant for $16.  I’m not a huge fan of fish myself unless its salmon but the sauce was very rich and the fish texture was great. I think my favorite part of this dish was the blue crab beignet though. It was amazing.

La Petite Grocery on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in French, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

