Indian Samraat in Boston, MA

Indian Samraat

51A Massachusetts Avenue
Boston, MA 02115

As soon as I got back into town, I need my Indian food fix. Luckily, a friend of mine was able to take me to a local hidden gem:

small space doesn't look like much from the outside

but when we went inside, there were a ton of tables. the red leather seats were comfy and luckily did not smell bad (some restaurants, the scent lingers on the leather seats).

red leather seats. nice.

my friend had a special mango yogurt drink to calm down the spices on her tongue:

mango lassi: Delicious mango and yogurt shake

the garlic naan was interesting. In the past, it was usually big and fluffy and filled with the flavor. This was more like 2 flat sheets with a bit of garlic spread in the middle. it was still good, just different than what i’m used to.

garlic naan

my friend ordered this sort of potato in spinach saag sauce. her dish was a little on the spicy sauce. it was delicious! the portions were a little small but I guess when you have a ton of rice, Indian food is very filling.

aloo chhole: Chick peas sauteed with onions, potatoes, tomatoes, and spices

i had my favorite chicken tikka masala! boneless roasted chicken pieces in a tomato cream sauce. it was sooooo much better than other ones I’ve had. so delicious!

oh Indian food, how I've missed you!

I love basmati rice!

mmmm rice

India Samraat on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Boston, MA, Indian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indian Samraat in Boston, MA

  1. i love the simplicity of the photograph of the rice. every last grain, complacent.

Leave a Reply

