Mr. John’s Steakhouse in New Orleans

Mr. John’s steakhouse
2111 St. Charles ave.
New Orleans

Outside of Mr. John's Steakhouse

If you’re lucky enough to get a window seat, you get an amazing view of St. Charles ave (great for people watching). Thank you Living Social Deals for another opportunity to eat out at a restaurant that is out of my normal budget for food!! I love the old school feel to the place. The maitre’d walking from table to table, asking people how is their meal and can he get them anything. It was great! Especially as we were walking out, he ran ahead of us to get the door and told us to watch out for a step! (very insistent)

complimentary garlic bread

As we sat pouring over the menu, we were promptly brought ice water and garlic bread. I noticed a lot of bigger parties here (family lunch? On a Friday? Oh yea, this restaurant only serves lunch on Fridays). So it was a bit chaotic and so I think all the waiters were running from table to table instead of divying up the tables and sticking to their stations. Which was nice because we almost always had service immediately when needed.

amuse bouche aka classic Italian meatball

After placing our orders, an amuse bouche arrived from the chef. Classic Italian meatballs! What is Julia’s favorite meat? The kind that falls apart at the slightest touch of my fork! It was DELICIOUS!

stuffed mushrooms. $9

To take full advantage of our coupon, we had to spend $50 on our bill. We were sad to see that all the steak prices were the same from dinner prices (the lower end steaks were at about $37) which was when we decided to take a look at lunch entrees not available at dinner time.  We started off with these stuffed mushrooms.

crabmeat stuffed mushroom broiled with butter and romano cheese

The crabmeat gave it a wonderful fluffy texture while the butter and romano cheese satiated my taste buds. It was an amazing dish, with all the flavors complimenting each other for buttery goodness.

seafood cobb salad. $16

My fellow foodie had the seafood cobb salad filled with boiled Gulf shrimp, crabmeat, bacon, hard-boiled eggs, bleu cheese, tomatoes and avocado served over a spring mix salad with Creole mustard vinagrette. I stole a bite and the salad dressing was so refreshing! The shrimp was boiled to a perfect crisp texture. I liked how colorful this dish was.

Paneed pork chop

I thought the paneed pork chop which was pounded thin and panko crusted, topped with a petite salad of baby spinach, grape tomatoes, and bleu cheese with a side of mashed potatoes sounded wonderful. I was shocked at how huge it was! When I cut into it, I realized that my pork chop was cut butterfly style, probably so that it was thin enough to cook all the way with the panko covering.  So although it was very wide, it was super thin which I prefer because you can appreciate the flavor more. I love Japanese bread crumbs! It has a bit of its own flavor that enhances any meat you coat it with.

creme brulee $6

To reach our $50 mark, we ordered the creme brulee. The caramelized sugar was still hot but the cool custard brought it to a luke warm on my tongue. I loved that the sweetness wasn’t overkill. Delicious! And this meal cost me and my fellow foodie about $16 each including tax and tip. Boo-yah!

I think the thing that shocked me the most though was the time. My friend and I left two hours after our reservation! We were trying to think where did the time go, we really did not feel like there was a lag in our meal except for maybe from garlic bread to stuffed mushrooms, or entrees to dessert.  But the meal did not feel like it was dragging on at all! Good Job, Mr. John’s.

Mr. John's Steak House on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in American, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

