Milk Bar in New Orleans

Milk Bar
1514 Delachaise St.
New Orleans

the milk bar

This is a great hidden gem with an amazingly creative menu.

Place your order from the menu

The ambiance is very cute here.

have a seat and wait for the Moo Krewe to deliver you your food

The hot chocolate had marshmallows in it! Hello, childhood! Made this cold weather more bearable. Another thing that reminded me of my childhood, ok fine, not MY childhood but TV (sad, I know): when the kids are running out of the kitchen trying to catch the schoolbus and the mom is standing by the door handing each kid their lunch bag. The Moo Krewe calls out your name and hand delivers your brown paper lunch bag. I could feel the heat radiating from my sandwich when he handed it to me.

hot chocolate

One friend had the “I Dream of  Aubergenie” Sandwich with roasted eggplant, roasted red peppers, red onion, calamata olives, feta, pesto and hummus. This was by far the winner of the day.

I dream of Aubergenie sandwich

Another friend had the “Shirley Valentine” sandwich which had sauteed spinach, artichokes, tomato, sauteed mushroom, red onion, feta, and mozarella cheese. The friend had noted that the artichoke flavor was a bit overwhelming.

Shirley Valentine sandwich

I had the psycho chicken sandwich with  marinated chicken (not really marinated), sundried tomato, mozzarella and pesto sauce. The bread was crispy and hearty, reminded me of the hunks of rustic bread from Parisian cafes. Then I found out that they get their bread from La Boulangerie which makes sense. The prices are great, and the food is even better.

Psycho Chicken sandwich

Milk Bar on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in American, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

