Zaftigs in Boston, MA

Zaftigs
335 Harvard St.
Brookline, MA

I made the mistake of attempting Sunday brunch here once, the wait was miserable. Which is why I came here on a Monday afternoon instead. Plenty of meter parking around for those of you who drive into Boston like moi. I was sooo excited for this neighborhood Jewish gem.

The Jewish Deli

Tons of workers so we pretty much always had someone’s attn whenever we needed it (my coffee cup was never empty).

pretty chaotic

lots of people ordering lunch to go get to hang out by the dessert counter (I wonder if they do that on purpose. You come in and order and then you’re left to stare at these goodies for a good 10-15 min?)

tons of delicious desserts

I’m very glad that these complimentary bagel chips came out cuz I was starving when I arrived. My teeth however were not as happy, for some reason when I crunched on the left side I felt a shooting pain. Time to visit my dad’s office!

complimentary bagel chips and cream cheese

my fellow foodie had a cappucino. He said it was a typical cappucino, can’t really go wrong with it.

cappucino

Then he ordered the Holly’s Heavenly salad with baby spinach greens, sun-dried cranberries, pine nuts, red onion, goat cheese, and raspberry balsamic vinagrette. The vinagrette was very subtle in the background, with the goat cheese standing out. Yum!

Holly's heavenly salad

He also had the mac & cheese which appeared to be baked with a panko bread crumb top. I was super excited for it because the description said creamy and cheesy. It wasn’t either! The main flavor was of the pasta itself. Maybe a stronger cheese like Parmigiano Reggiano or a sharper cheddar would’ve done the trick.

mac & cheese

Since this place is known for their sandwiches, I had the Monte Cristo which was crispy french toast, swiss cheese, smoked ham and smoked turkey with some sort of cranberry chutney. This was GENIUS! The sweet syrupy flavor of the french toast was amazing with the smoked ham and smoked turkey. I was iffy about mixing sweet and salt but the smoked ham and turkey were not salty at all. It was AMAZING! My fellow foodie had one-eigth of the sandwich and concurred.

the Monte Cristo

i feel like I should email them this picture or something

Zaftigs Delicatessen on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in American, Boston, MA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

