Dick and Jenny’s in New Orleans

Dick and Jenny’s
4501 Tchoupitoulas St.
New Orleans, LA
***100TH NEW ORLEANS BLOG ENTRY!!!***

Thanks to a Living social deals, I was able to eat a full dinner here for under $30 including tax and tip!
Look for this bright corner by Tchoupitoulas and Napoleon:

Dick and Jenny's

walk down the side street (Not Tchoup) to this entrance:

the entrance

the decor inside was interesting. i liked the plates lining the walls:

the lined walls

when we sat down, the waittress brought out water and cornbread:

i loved the glass jars for our cups

cornbread was pretty good

We started off with the escargot bowl appetizer. The garlicky escargot is served in a tiny bread bowl (like a bread roll) topped with a smoked mushroom and bacon in a creamy demi-glace. This was a very unique dish. The first time I’ve ever had something like this. The bacon reminded me of tasso ham, a spicy peppery smoked pork. The sauce was also strongly flavored in the same spicy and smoked manner; a bitter remoulade (a bit too salty for me).

escargot bread bowl for $9

The second appetizer we got was the pain perdu of duck confit. This was sooooo delicious and innovative. Not only was the duck juicy, but there was apple and brie inside the panini sandwich! With a bit of peach chutney on top, this was soo good!

pain perdu of duck $9

my friend had the roasted pork tenderloin stuffed with goat cheese and pine nuts, topped with a red pepper balsamic vinagrette with sauteed spinach and goat cheese grits.  from the sample I had, the pork was very nicely cooked (perfect composition) but the flavor was a little too dominated by the pine nuts for my preference.

roasted pork tenderloin $22

i had the BBQ shrimp (Big Easy Style) with stone-ground goat cheese grits.  this was by far the winner of the meal. the shrimp was crisp and the BBQ sauce was soooooo good. it was so unique, not like any BBQ sauce i’d ever had before.

BBQ shrimp $21

I really like restaurants that take care of their customers. When my friend and I sat down, we told our waittress that we were starving! She brought out an extra basket of cornbread for us. She also hooked us up with extra grits on our dishes! For free! So nice! And as we were heading out to our cars, I secretly dreaded having to walk down the side street I had parked on. I had seen a police officer standing inside the foyer but I thought maybe he was meeting someone for dinner. But then he followed me and my friend outside and offered to walk us to our cars. Sweet! They hired a policeman for security at night time! That is definitely looking out for their customers!

Dick & Jenny's on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Cajun/Creole, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

