RECIPE: Praline Pecans

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole pecans
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 4 tablespoons heavy cream
  • Cooking spray

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

So I actually made my own heavy cream because I had leftover milk and butter from another recipe. It was awesome. I felt like Julia Child (this was something I had picked up from one of her recipes). So you melt a few table spoons of butter in a pan over medium heat and then whisk in flour (a few tablespoons as well). Once you got that going, pour in milk and whisk it into a flurry. The buttery mess will thicken and smoothen into a white fluffy cream.

fresh from the oven

In a medium bowl combine pecans, brown sugar, and home-made heavy cream. Spread into a square baking pan, sprayed with cooking spray. Bake in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes. Remove from oven to cool and stir more. Don’t make the mistake I did, I let the thing cool on the aluminum foil which was a big pain later when I tried to scrape it off. If not serving immediately, store in an airtight container preferably in the fridge (the next day, they became a sweet, crispy snack to munch on).

I mainly made these to encourage myself to eat salads more often. It worked.

yummy salad

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

