Miga in Philadelphia

Miga
211 S. 15th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102

Parking in center city is always a nightmare and this time was no exception and made worse by the rain. I had heard about this new Korean restaurant and wanted to check it out.

ambiance

I loved the ambiance when I walked in. the furniture was all luxurious. Although the crown molding gave me more of a Taj Mahal feel, the Korean pop music told me right away that I was in a Korean restaurant.

electric grill

When we sat down, I immediately sensed that something was off and realized that this place uses electric grills for Korean BBQ. Now I know all about the dangers of carcinogens in barbecued food but I feel like the gas grill adds a whole new dimension to the flavor of meat. We ended getting food prepared in the back.

seafood scallion pancake

We started with seafood scallion pancakes for $9. The pancakes came out very thick, a unique rice flour. There were mussels, calamari and shrimp inside with the Korean scallions.

ban chan

The ban chan (side dishes) came out surprisingly late. Usually it comes out shortly after the ice water but here, they brought it out after the seafood scallion pancake.

bulgogi lunch box

 

bulgogi

I had the bulgogi lunch box for $11. It came with 2 fried dumpling, egg custard, salad, 3 pieces of California roll, Korean vermicelli noodle, and some white rice. The bulgogi was taste less and absolutely difficult to chew. The dumplings and egg custard were alright. The salad dressing was watered down. The Korean vermicelli noodles came with no vegetables. A first for me.

miso soup

 

galbi lunch box

Joe had the galbi lunch box for $11 which came w all the same side dishes. Although there weren’t very many pieces of galbi, it was delicious! It was cooked well and retained it’s natural meaty flavor in addition to the marinade.

Miga on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Korean, Philadelphia, PA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

