Ting Wong in Philadelphia

Ting Wong
138 N. 10th St
Philadelphia, PA

This is a great hole in the wall for fast cheap-eats. You walk in, order a meat over rice dish for under $5 and within minutes walk out with your hot food and change. There’s a 3 man team manning the front section, one cashier who moves as fast as lightening, one man tending to the food, and one Thor. By Thor, I mean a man who cleaves meat and bone like no other. All he does is stand there, holds the meat with his left hand and hacks your meat into thin slices with the meat cleaver in his right hand. The cashier is going back and forth from taking orders, filling to go cartons and bags, and manning the cash register. He has a wet towel at each station so that he is constantly moistening his hands, not stopping for anything. I saw him working on 3 separate orders at one time, filling different bags with different cartons. I finally caught his attention when I pulled on a $20 dollar bill, haha.

roast duck

Joe had the roast duck over white rice and I had the soy chicken over white rice. I’m not a huge fan of eating meat off the bone, it gets messy and I end up leaving a ton of meat on the bone. Although, for $4.50, this was a great meal.

soy chicken

Ting Wong on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Chinese, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment