Lola in New Orleans

Lola
3312 Esplanade Avenue
New Orleans, LA

I had heard that if you want authentic Spanish, this is your place. It’s a cute little restaurant nestled away in the Marigny by the art museum.

There was a group of us here, so we ordered a bit of food. My friends started with the grilled calamari:

A friend and I started off with the garlic shrimp which we loved because we’re huge garlic freaks! There was a ton of shrimp and the garlic flavor really came through.

My other friends split the house salad, and the waittress offered to throw avocados on it which I thought was nice of her.

My other friends split a small meat paella which was more than enough for 2 people. The paella was still steaming hot when it came to the table. It had chicken, pork, sausage and vegetables seasoned with garlic, saffron and herbs.

My friend and I split the seafood paella. It was amazing! It tasted even better when we added garlicky butter. There was a ton of seafood: shrimp, fish, calamari, scallops, mussels seasoned with garlic, saffron and herbs.

It was very yummy and lived up to its hype:

We decided to end the night on a sweet note with the famed almond nouggat ice cream. The almond flavor was wonderfully enhanced the cream.

almond nouggat ice cream

I thought my to go box was very cute.

my to go box

Lola's on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Latin American, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

