Flaming Torch in New Orleans

Flaming Torch
737 Octavia St.
New Orleans, LA

Flaming Torch

This is a French restaurant in New Orleans. It’s very easy to miss so look for the sign on Magazine St. I came here cuz of a groupon. I was surprised that it was $25 for $50, but then I looked at the menu and realized that  $50 wouldn’t get us very far.

Decor

The other diners in the place were all significantly older than us. Probably because this place isn’t really affordable for the younger crowd. I did like the ambiance though. We had an especially friendly waiter (I loved that he had the same name as the mouse chef from Ratatouille).  The decor was definitely fancy but not that cold fancy where you’re scared to breathe. This place had a warm ambiance to it. Probably cuz of our extremely friendly waiter.

Pan Seared Duck Breast

My friend ordered the duck two ways. The duck breast looked beautiful but was very tough to chew. The duck tasted like wild turkey. A very heavy duck flavor. The pan seared duck breast  with calvados and demi reduction.

Duck leg confit

The duck leg confit was the opposite of the breast, it was very tender and I wish there was more.The duck flavor was not as dominant but the duck jus was amazing.

potato au gratin

The potato au gratin was quite cheesy. There wasn’t much but it was baked.

fish of the day

The fish of the day was pan seared drum topped with a lump crabmeat with asparagus, prepared in a creole mustard bouillabaise. When I asked for more information about the sauce, I was glad to hear it was a butter-based! The fish was delicious and flaky. I couldn’t taste the crabmeat at all with the asparagus though. The bed of spinach complimented the fish wonderfully. I was very impressed by this dish but not by the price.

Flaming Torch on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in French, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

