Commanders in New Orleans

Commanders
1403 Washington Avenue
New Orleans

the front

From the moment we walked in, I could tell that service was one of the top priorities at Commanders!  A lot of waiters were lined up as we were being led to our table and each of them had a smile and said their own variation of “Welcome.”  The menu was quite extensive and so it took us quite a bit of time to decide what to get and in that time, the ice in our drinks had melted and so a waiter came by and I was ready to ask for one more minute when I saw him replace our water glasses that had been barely touched! now that is great service! When we were ready to order, our server was at another table but the maitre’D noticed that we were ready and so I watched him flag down another server to take our order.

ambiance

the ambiance is upscale and classy but comfortable. since we happened to be here for happy hour, we ordered 2 appetizers and 1 mixed drink all for $20.

garlic bread

this was the first time Joe and I had been served garlic bread. this stood out to us because most other places served sorudough bread or french bread with butter.

shrimp

Joe ordered the shrimp and tasso henican with wild Louisiana shrimp stuffed with spicy Cajun ham, crystal hot sauce beurre blanc, pickled okra and five pepper jelly. This was delicious. I was very surprised that the strong tasso flavor didn’t dominate this dish. Joe’s only complaint was that there were only three shrimps.

Commander's salad

I had the Commander’s salad with hearts of romaine, Parmesan, pressed egg, housemade bacon, French bread croutons, grated Gruyere, and creamy black pepper dressing. I really appreciated how light the creamy black pepper dressing was (usually I order dressing on the side but this time I forgot to and so I was very relieved that I could taste the other components of the salad in addition to the dressing).

veal chop

Joe had the veal chop tchoupitoulas which is a creole spiced chop of milk-fed veal over goat cheese stone ground grits with asparagus and classic green peppercorn demi glaze.  The veal was very tender and the spices definitely tasted creole. I loved the goat cheese stone ground grits and stole a mouthful every chance I got.

black angus

I had the pepper crusted black angus sirloin with sour cream and creole mustard crushed potatoes with roasted summer vegetables and garlic thyme juice. My steak wasn’t as tender as Joe’s veal chop but it was tasty. My sides definitely weren’t as good as Joe’s though.

bread pudding

when we placed our order for our dinner, the server asked us if we would like to pre-order the bread pudding for dessert because the kitchen needs 20 minutes for this dish. Since New Orleans is famous for its bread pudding, we decided why not! The bread pudding was brought fresh from the oven to our table and the server added a cream glaze right there at the table. I was a little sad that he broke the top in order to pour cream inside (as the photographer trying to think of which way to angle the dish to take my picture, watching a huge gaping hole made in the top of my dessert). The bread pudding was amazing! It was your typical cinnamon raisin bread pudding but the cream had started to caramelize probably from the extreme heat of the bread pudding. Gave it a nice crisp.

Commander's Palace on Urbanspoon

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in American, New Orleans, LA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Commanders in New Orleans

  1. the Pun says:

    Hey, Welcome to New Orleans!
    Nice post. Can’t wait until you hit Adolfo’s on Frenchman.

  2. Thanks for sharing some outstanding foodtography. I love Commander’s and enjoyed “eating” your words about a wonderful restaurant.

  3. Bryan says:

    Have you been to commanders for Sunday Brunch?

  4. katie71483 says:

    Go to Commander’s for lunch during the week – 25 cent martinis! And they’re not skimping either. 🙂 The jazz brunch on the weekends is a lot of fun, just remember to bring a request and a tip for the trio – they go from table to table.

Leave a Reply

