Guru the Caterer in Somerville, MA

Guru the Caterer
1297 Broadway
Somerville, MA

the front

I was having a hankering for Indian food but didn’t want to deal with the crazy boston lunch rush. This place opened at 11 AM, so while in my pajamas at 11:10 AM, I called this place from my bed in Andover to place an order for take out (should take like 20-30 min which is about the time it will take for my commute). When I called to place my order, the guy on the phone said “10 minutes.” I thought “CRAP!” and jumped out of bed and got ready so fast and yet I was still 20 minutes late to pick up my food. The awesome thing was that my food was waiting for me on a heater and so when I finally got my food home, it was still warm.When I got to this location, I could see why this is a take out location, there were only 2 tables!

chicken tikka masala

This chicken tikka masala lived up to its hype. This was one of the best I’ve ever had. It came with a side of aloo methi (potatoes with fenagreek leaves and spices).

sloo methi

the flavor of the aloo methi was actually too strong for me

samosa

Guru the Caterer on Urbanspoon

the filling was the kind where they mash up everything and then put it inside the dough. I prefer the other way where you can tell what is what.

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Boston, MA, Indian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

