RECIPE: Jajangmyun (Korean noodles in black bean sauce)

Ingredients

Directions
1. Make the noodles by hand……….. Just kidding!! Go to the freezer section of your local oriental grocery market and look for the already made noodles. Be sure to separate these before putting them into the boiling pot of water (with oil to help keep the noodles apart when cooking).

separated noodles

2. Heat a large saute pan and add oil. Once hot, add garlic, sliced onions and black bean paste (also from an oriental market, look in the sauce aisle). Once the onions are cooked, add water.If you plan on having a meat in here (like chopped up sirloin or pork), add it with the garlic and sliced onions.

sauce

3. Once the sauce is an even consistency, add the zucchini (it cooks very fast so we save it for the end).

4. Once the noodles are done, put it in a collander and then rinse with cold water to stop the cooking process.

5. Arrange noodles in serving bowls and pour black bean sauce on top. And then add sliced zucchini on top for added freshness.

yummy!

this is one of my favorite dishes to eat. my extended relatives all live in Los Angeles which is famous for their Koreatown. My grandfather’s dental office is actually across the street from a very popular Korean mall which has a Sino-Korean (chinese/korean) restaurant on the first floor in front of the water fountain. I have happy memories of my grandpa taking me and my sister here first thing whenever we flew in from BOS to LAX. My grandparents would watch in amazement as I would inhale my entire bowl without coming up for air. My mom has told me a bunch of times that this is a dish that I should not eat while on a date (cuz you get brown sauce all over your face).

About julia521

I'm a food aficionado with an interest in photography. Most of my restaurants will be in New Orleans as I will be here over the next few years. Every now and then you will see a post from Boston or Philadelphia too!
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

